Oht Kavod #2: Sefer Torah / סֶבֶּר תוֹרָה / The Torah Scroll



Also known as the "Five Books of Moses" English and the "Pentateuch" in Greek, the *Torah* has served as the spiritual guide and community constitution of the Jewish people for over three millennia. Our tradition teaches that the Torah was given to us by God at Mount Sinai through the hands of Moses. As something touched by God, the prophets, and virtually every Jew who has ever lived, the Torah is the most sacred heirloom and central inspiration of the Jewish people.

Five Elements of Mastery:

- 1) What does the word *Torah* mean? *Torah* means "**instruction**".
- 2) How the Torah divided and what is is the name for the sections?

 What is the number of Torah sections that are read in a year?

 The Torah is read in weekly portions called parasha; parshiyot (plural).

 There are fifty-four (54) parshiyot.
- 3) Be able to name all five books of the Torah in English and in Hebrew.

בָּרָאשַׁית	Bereshit	Genesis
י שׁמוֹת	Sh'mot	Exodus
•	Va-Yikra	Leviticus
וַיִּקְרָא	Ba-Midbar	Numbers
בַּמִּדְבָּר	D'varim	Deuteronomy
דְבָרִים		,

4) What does the term ספר תורה / Sefer Torah The Sefer Torah is the scroll-form of the mean?

Torah used at worship



Pictures of a Sefer Torah being paraded at the holiday of Simchat Torah and being read on the bimah.

5) What does the term הומש *Chumash* mean?

The *Chumash* is the **book-form** of the Torah used in study.



Pictures of different versions of *Chumash* and of a *Chumash* being used in Torah study.

Date Completed:	Mashgiach signature:	
/ /		